Review: Abode Café

University assignments have been the death of me recently, so I needed to take some time to indulge myself. Fortunately, I was invited out to lunch last week with a good friend, who suggested that we visit Abode Café, which is only a 10-minute walk from Indooroopilly Shoppingtown. Nestled in the quiet suburban streets of Taringa, this little café has much to boast about.

 

14470806_1129711773776406_958180239_n

I sat inside when I visited, but look at how gorgeous the outside area is! 

Although the indoor seating area is intimate/cramped, the exterior dining area is spacious and perfect for bigger groups of people. Committed to providing a top-quality meal, much of the menu items (cakes, jams, etc) are made fresh in-store and the meat and eggs are ethically sourced/free range. Abode even make their own almond milk! Although I’m not a fan of commercial almond milk, the barista assured me that it was rich in all the good flavours. And it was! While I’m no almond milk connoisseur, it was apparent that the subtle nut flavour of the almond milk complemented the chai spices.

 

14483881_1129711753776408_598913798_n

Chai latte ft. Abode almond milk

 

Torn between the homemade granola and the El Pedro burrito, the barista suggested that I try the burrito. “After all,” he said, “you can always come back and have the granola.” The El Pedro Burrito is crammed full of black beans, chilli jam and the world’s most succulent pork, drizzled in salsa and homemade chipotle mayonnaise… And you’re probably drooling right now. As I ate my burrito, I could barely control the ecstatic moans and muffled outbursts of “this is so good.” This may have lead towards several raised eyebrows of other diners, but the staff see this sort of stuff every day. They were

All good things must come to an end and eventually, the café had to close (3pm every day) and I had to go home. As I waddled my bloated body to the bus stop, I resolved to come back to Abode, eat the granola and buy a jar of their jam.

14509355_1129711803776403_263659743_n

I remembered to take a photo of my food halfway through eating my burrito. 

If you ever happen to be on the west side of Brisbane or you don’t know where to go for brunch, ensure that you go and indulge in the tasty things Abode Café has to offer. With various gluten/dairy free options, you can even take your friends with allergies! But get in quick, the Abode kitchen closes at 2pm.

*****= 5 stars

And that’s all for now. The September Favourites is being published in a few days, so get excited! If you have any suggested cafés for me to visit or if you want to buy me a jar of Abode’s Strawberry and Vanilla Jam, let me know in the comments section.

Much love,
Pear and Ivy xx

 

 

Leave a Reply

