30 Before 30: the Pear and Ivy bucket list

When it comes to setting goals, I tend to focus on creating short-term, easily achievable goals. I tend to lose focus before I come close to sorting out my long-term goals.
But there are a few things that I know that I definitely want to do with my life, and rather than just dawdle through the world, I thought it’d be good to make a proper bucket list of things that I want to get done by the time I’m 30.
I’ll be turning 21 this year, so that’s nine years to complete this list. Yes, I could do these things at any point in my life, but I’d rather get things done while I’m still full of energy and impulsive ideas. Stuff will probably change as I get older and learn new things, but these are the things (at the moment) that I know I definitely want to achieve before I turn 30.

Travel anywhere and everywhere!
I’ve never been sure about the things that you’re supposed to be certain about (career, marriage, family), but the only certainty that I have is that I want to see more of the world. I’d really love to go to places like Scotland, Germany, New Zealand, Hawaii, Italy, Egypt, Ireland, Denmark and Japan, but I’d honestly be open to going anywhere!

Take the Great Ocean Road trip
Australia is chockers with beautiful places and weird animals (looking at you, cassowaries), so it makes sense to see some of these epic things. I’ve always heard that Great Ocean Road is stunning, so I’m really keen to get down to Victoria and check it out!

Donate blood
I’ve signed up to be an organ donor, but why stop there? Why not do something small that could make a big difference in someone else’s life?

Finish writing 2 novels
At this present moment, I’ve yet to finish the draft of my debut novel. But I’d like to believe that I won’t just stop at one novel, I’ll knock out at least one more before my fingers are riddled with arthritis.

Swim with sharks
Anyone who’s anyone knows that I am madly in love with sharks (especially tiger sharks). So I’d like to get in the water with them someday and have a paddle. Whether I swim with tiger sharks in the Bahamas or alongside the whale sharks near Exmouth, I’d be thrilled to do this!

school-of-hammer-head-sharks-shark-gifs

Get a tattoo
Someday, I’d like to get ‘Tutankhamun’ in hieroglyphics to commemorate my beloved cat. Having considered this tattoo for quite some time, I like to think that I won’t regret it when I’m 197 and the tramp of the nursing home (unless I get it on my forehead…).

Climb up the Eiffel Tower
I’m still kicking myself for not going to the top of the Eiffel Tower when I went to Paris in 2014.

Make creme brulee (successfully)
I love cooking (and eating the final results). But the one thing that I can never cook is creme brulee. The last time I attempted to make it, the creme brulee had the taste and consistency of candle wax.

Adopt a cat
While I wish that my cat could be immortal, I know that at some stage he will go to Feline Valhalla. So someday I’d like to open my heart and home to a cat who needs it.

tenor

Go blonde
Right now, I’m the hottest new member of the Redhead Club. But having been a brunette all my life, I know that I need to take the plunge someday and go blonde!

Try calligraphy
My handwriting is feral. Even doctors look at my handwriting and wince. So all those cute videos of calligraphy have made me decide to give it a go. It’d be nice to have some form of handwriting that isn’t completely atrocious.

1000637_929730830410091_5901651576299567718_n

Learn a language.
Not fluently, but just be able to speak it and not sound like a weirdo.

Plant a tree
It’s important to make a positive difference in this world. And even if I don’t become famous or solve poverty, at least in this smallest and simplest of ways I would have made a positive contribution to the grand scheme of things.

Go to an opera
I love getting dressed up to go to plays and musicals. But I’ve never been to an opera and I feel like I’m missing out on something. I went to a ballet once and it was boring, so if you’ve been to an opera, can you tell me if it’s any good?

Go to Les Deux Moulins (the cafe in Amelie)
Another thing that I failed to do in Paris was to visit the cafe that is featured in my all-time favourite movie. This bucket list has me wondering if I actually did anything when I was in France?

Learn how to do a smoky eye (and actually do it)
Having been in a consistent Goth phase for the past 13 years, it’s confusing as to why I’ve never worn a smoky eye. So I’d like to get out of my Cleopatra eyeliner rut and try some other look that says ‘I HATE EVERYONE!’

See the Great Barrier Reef (before it dies)
I’ve never met someone who said: “I went to the Great Barrier Reef and it was a boring crock of shit.” Not only is the GBR ecologically invaluable and worth protecting, it’s also incredibly beautiful and well worth going to see.

Write more letters to people
In this world of emails and tagging friends in memes, it’s too easy to forget the joy of receiving a hand-written letter or a postcard. So I’d like to be able to pass that kind of thrill around to people.

Go on a holiday with my squad
Many bucket lists suggest that one should ‘travel alone.’ HELL NAH. As much as I love getting quality ‘me time,’ travelling is something that I need to do with at least one other person. And nothing says #ultimatesquadgoals quite like travelling with your girls.

giphy-1

Stay overnight somewhere haunted
None of my squad would probably do this with me (boo), but if I find someone crazy enough, then we’re finding somewhere haunted and staying there through the night. And hopefully, we won’t get murdered by a ghost.

Get a hammock/swinging chair thing
I’ve wanted one of these fuckers since I was a kid. They look like they’d make a great reading nook.

Attend Dia de Los Muertos 
Halloween is for basic bitches, Dia de Los Muertos is where it’s at. The pictures that I see of Dia de Los Muertos festivals look incredibly beautiful and exciting.

Have a dedicated book room in my house
This step requires me to actually get my shit together and move out of my Mum’s house. But the thought of a whole room full of books (and maybe that hammock chair) is super tempting. One day I’d like to actually achieve that.

Go to a wine and painting class
Lord knows what kind of shenanigans would happen when Drunk Viv meets paint, but time will only tell.

Try fencing/salsa dancing
There’s no strong motive for me to do this, other than the simple reason: “why not?”

Buy myself sunflowers
I hate getting flowers from people but for some weird reason, I like the idea of buying my own.

Meet someone famous
I’ve met/come super close to a few famous Australians in my time (Kate Miller-Heidke, Bindi Irwin, Yassmin Abdel-Magied, Kanen Breen, Pauline Hanson…), but none of them is famous with a capital F.

13578958_1062793003801617_178532759_n

Get a nose piercing 
Yet another thing my family would kill me for, but IT’S MY GODDAMN NOSE, AND I WILL DO WHAT I WANT.

Buy more ethical clothing (no polyester, no supporting companies who use child labour) 
Too often, I buy clothes from companies that either exploit children or are not ecologically sustainable. So I’d like to start making more wise choices when I buy clothes and invest more in the quality of things that I do buy.

Give more support to causes that I believe in
I’d like to get involved with more protests, donate to more grassroots charities and write more letters to politicians. The world has never found any kind of change from people who sit on their arse and remain complacent.

In short, I think I just want to see more of the world, experience more things and make a difference for the environment whenever I can.

Much love,
Pear and Ivy xx

Leave a comment